When words are not enough

Dennis Sparks

In the wake of last Friday’s overwhelming tragedy at Sandy Hook Elementary School in Connecticut I stand in awe of and am deeply moved by the bravery and unflinching dedication of Principal Dawn Hochsprung and other educators in that school who gave their lives for their students.

Given the nature of the principals and teachers I have been privileged to know throughout my career, I am not surprised by their actions nor the ultimate price they paid for their dedication.

In the days ahead many others will undoubtedly find the most fitting words to describe them as human beings and as educators.

When I think of the losses to death in my own life I recall numbness, disbelief, and an altered reality from which I thought I would never awake. As I have sought to absorb the news accounts from Newtown I have found myself living in a similar altered state of consciousness from which I cannot escape.

Over the past few years as as a hospice volunteer I have led grief support groups for the spouses and partners, siblings and children, and other loved ones of hospice patients.

These grieving individuals learn that their feelings and reactions are shared by others and find support in community as live their lives one day or even one hour at a time.

They teach me and one another about compassion and love, the importance of mutual support, and the power of human resilience in the face of tragedies that they often cannot find words to express.

The school community of Sandy Hook will undoubtedly teach us those lessons and others as we send it our prayers and observe it from afar in the days and weeks ahead.

 

2 Responses to “When words are not enough”


  1. 1 janice matthews December 16, 2012 at 12:43 pm

    I am proud to be a teacher today. Our greatest contribution will be to help bring out the greatness in each child so that there are no more shooters.

  2. 2 Cathy Gassenheimer December 16, 2012 at 5:51 pm

    Thank you for your comforting words about an unfathomable and beyond tragic situation.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4,779 other followers

Archives

Categories

Recent Twitter Posts