Good advice

Dennis

In Louise Penny’s mystery, Bury Your Dead, a senior police inspector tells a junior colleague that he will benefit in his career if he learns to say: “I’m sorry. I was wrong. I need help. I don’t know.”

With the U.S. Thanksgiving Day on the near horizon, I would add: “I am grateful.”

Many problems in our personal and professional lives would disappear or be significantly diminished if we learned to regularly say those things, one at a time or in various combinations.

What do you think—good advice?

6 Responses to “Good advice”


  1. 1 James Funk November 23, 2015 at 5:27 am

    Excellent advice. Many times, when I was working in plaintiff’s personal injury work, clients would share their problem and end with the statement, “I don’t want money; I just want the individual to admit that they were wrong.” It happened frequently in medical negligence cases.

  2. 3 Laura MacDonald November 23, 2015 at 9:09 am

    I absolutely agree! It’s no different than a driver who cuts you off or a restaurant server that messes up your meal. Hearing, “I’m sorry AND I was wrong” really smooths out many situations. The part that I like is the “I was wrong” or “I made a mistake” because this alludes at the fact that the person at fault is taking responsibility or ownership for the situation and going to do something about it to help you. We need more humility and definitely more responsibility taken in this world.

  3. 5 Joellen Killion November 24, 2015 at 7:18 pm

    I am particularly grateful for your friendship, mentoring, leadership, and support. I agree that gratitude is too often forgotten in our lives. Among the phrases you mention, thank you belongs on top.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4,780 other followers

Archives

Categories

Recent Twitter Posts